Aacoma

Aacoma (Accelerate Advanced Composites Manufacturing)

The Interreg AACoMa project focuses on accelerating the advanced manufacturing of composite materials by demonstrating the needed processing technologies in close interaction with companies.

New Materials and advanced processing technologies such as additive manufacturing, robotics, virtual engineering, virtual reality and artificial intelligence will be addressed to prove the feasibility of enhancing materials, manufacturing quality and productivity.

 

Project summary

Multimaterials (Composites) are mainly developed for the aircraft and aerospace sector because of their combined lightweight and exceptional mechanical properties. The technical progress made in in material design and advanced manufacturing processes (Industry 4.0) opens new ways for their use in many other sectors.

For SMEs desiring to develop and market novel and competitive products, composites offer innovating opportunities for applications in various industrial sectors including automotive, transport, mechanical engineering, and construction.

However, for most SMEs the implementation of disruptive technologies by introducing advanced manufacturing techniques is not without any risks. Prior to investing in new production lines, SMEs need to acquire more knowledge in advanced material and processing technologies, and to produce and test some demonstrators or prototypes.

“To introduce advanced manufacturing technologies, SME's need skilled and experienced human resources.”

 

Interested?

If you are interested in this project, please contact Mona Ziegler amac-communicationsnothing@effing-aachen.de.

 

Background Information

Aacoma is an EU-funded cross-border project (Interreg) in the Euregio Meuse-Rhine (Wallonia and Flanders in Belgium, Limburg in the Netherlands and North-Rhine Westphalia in Germany). Implemented in 2020 by 7 partners (Project leader Centexbel, University of Liège, Sirris, Flanders Make, Fontys, AMIBM and AMAC), it will run for three years until 2023.

 

Co-financing

Financing

Aacoma

Grenzüberschreitendendes Interreg-Projekt Aacoma (Accelerate Advanced Composites Manufacturing)

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen und F&E Institutionen konzentriert sich das AACOMA-Projekt auf die Beschleunigung der fortschrittlichen Herstellung von Verbundwerkstoffen anhand von Demonstratoren unterschiedlichster Verarbeitungstechnologien.

Neue Materialien und fortschrittliche Verarbeitungstechnologien so wie additive Fertigung, Robotik, virtuelles Engineering, virtuelle Realität und künstliche Intelligenz werden angesprochen, um die Machbarkeit der Verbesserung von Material- und Fertigungsqualität sowie Produktivität nachzuweisen.

 

Projekt-Zusammenfassung

Multimaterielle Werkstoffe (dazu gehören auch Verbundwerkstoffe) werden aufgrund ihres Leichtgewichts und ihrer außergewöhnlichen mechanischen Eigenschaften vorwiegend für den Luft- und Raumfahrtsektor entwickelt. Der technische Fortschritt bei der Materialgestaltung und den fortschrittlichen Herstellungsverfahren (Industrie 4.0) eröffnet neue Wege für ihre Verwendung in vielen anderen Sektoren.

Besonders für KMU, die neuartige und wettbewerbsfähige Produkte entwickeln und vermarkten wollen, bieten Verbundwerkstoffe innovative Möglichkeiten für Anwendungen in verschiedenen Industriezweigen, darunter Automobilbau, Transport, Maschinenbau und Bauwesen.

Für die meisten KMU ist jedoch die Umsetzung von bahnbrechenden Technologien durch die Einführung fortschrittlicher Fertigungstechniken nicht ohne Risiken. Bevor sie in neue Produktionslinien investieren, müssen KMU mehr Wissen über fortschrittliche Material- und Verarbeitungstechnologien erwerben und einige Demonstratoren oder Prototypen herstellen und testen.

"Um fortschrittliche Fertigungstechnologien einführen zu können, benötigen besonders KMU qualifizierte Erfahrungswerte ".

 

Interesse?

Bei Interesse, an diesem Projekt teilzunehmen kontaktieren Sie Mona Ziegler: amac-communicationsnothing@effing-aachen.de

 

Hintergrund

Aacoma ist ein EU-gefördertes grenzüberschreitendes Interreg-Projekt in der Euregio Maas-Rhein (Wallonien und Flandern in Belgien, Limburg in den Niederlanden und Nordrhein-Westfalen in Deutschland). Das von sieben Partnern (Projektleiter Centexbel, Universität Lüttich, Sirris, Flanders Make, Fontys, AMIBM und AMAC) ausgeführte Projekt ist in 2020 gestartet und läuft bis zum Jahr 2023.

 

Co-financing

Financing